Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Cramer Named to Three Subcommittees of House Energy and Commerce Committee

Jan 10, 2017
Press Release

Listen to Audio Here

WASHINGTON, D.C. -- Congressman Kevin Cramer has been named to serve on three of the top subcommittees in the House Energy and Commerce Committee for the 115th Congress.  The appointments were announced Monday by Congressman Greg Walden, chairman of the Energy and Commerce Committee.

Cramer will serve on the Communications and Technology, Energy, and Environment subcommittees.  “I am pleased to have been appointed to the three committees I requested,“ said Cramer.   “As this new Congress looks to shake up regulatory and authorizing agencies like the Environmental Protection Agency and the Department of Energy, I am looking forward to being involved in legislation at this very first level. The issues these three subcommittees will consider include electric generation, transmission and distribution; clean air regulations, fuel economy, broadband technology and several others, all of which are very important to and have direct impact on North Dakota.“

This is Cramer’s second session of Congress as a member of the Energy and Commerce Committee, which is the oldest standing legislative committee in the U.S. House of Representatives. It is vested with the broadest jurisdiction of any congressional authorizing committee and is responsible for legislation encompassing the nation's health care, energy policy, telecommunications, consumer protection, food and drug safety, public health research, environmental quality, and interstate and foreign commerce.

The Energy and Commerce Committee oversees multiple Cabinet-level departments and independent agencies, including the Departments of Energy, Health and Human Services, Commerce, and Transportation, as well as the Environmental Protection Agency, the Federal Trade Commission, the Food and Drug Administration, and the Federal Communications Commission.

Cramer took the oath of office Jan. 3 for a third term as North Dakota’s At-Large Member of Congress.