Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Cramer Introduces ND Mineral Resources Director at Hearing

May 10, 2013
Press Release

Washington, D.C. – Today Congressman Kevin Cramer introduced the Director of the North Dakota Department of Mineral Resources, Lynn Helms, as a witness during a hearing on hydraulic fracturing. During the hearing held by the House Committee on Natural Resources, Cramer and Helms highlighted the need for state primacy over hydraulic fracturing and other energy matters despite attempts by the Obama administration to institute new regulations at the federal level.

States are currently responsible for overseeing oil and natural gas development related to hydraulic fracturing. An economic analysis conducted by the economics firm John Dunham & Associates estimates a cost of $253,800 per well would be placed on energy producers and consumers if proposed federal hydraulic fracturing rules were implemented.

“Let’s trust the natural order of things, and trust local and state regulators who are charged with ensuring minimal adverse impact on cultural and natural resources of land,” Cramer said during the hearing. “America’s national security and America’s economic security are tied to America’s energy security. I want to ask all of our members, both Republicans and Democrats, to find opportunity for common ground in this area, and to trust the stewardship of people who live on the land. The sustainability of land could not be more important to anyone but the people whose ancestors and heirs depend on that land.”

“It is not possible to create a consistent nationwide standard that complies with all federal, tribal, state, and local laws, rules, and regulations,” Helms said during his testimony. He also noted drilling permits on federal lands in North Dakota are already delayed 180 to 290 days. The wait time for a permit on private land in the state is currently 20 to 30 days.

Congressman Cramer serves on the Natural Resources and Science, Space and Technology Committees. Within these committees, he serves on the Subcommittee on Energy and Mineral Resources, the Subcommittee on Public Lands and Environmental Regulations, and the Subcommittee on Energy.